HOME

I’M HOME.

Back to the place where I belong.

Every scene which I’ve seen in the past 12 hours appears to be so familiar. The very first one prompted out right before landing: a boundaryless sea. Our plane lowered to the sea level, ships were sailing slowly next to us, endeavouring to reach their destination. Then we landed, surrounded visually and verbally by a familiar language. Slowly I got my luggage and approached the arrival hall. Within a second I caught the eye contact with four smiling faces, the very same faces which I’ve seen a year ago. We didn’t say a word but hugged each other, which was for me the warmest welcome of all. Then we left the airport and I got in touch with the outside world again – hmmmm, same landscape, same smell, same humidity, same temperature. I entered our flat, my room hasn’t changed a little bit. I went out and had dinner, the foods tasted as usual. Just now I enjoyed my first piece of Hong Kong bread, so rich in flavor, soft and bouncy – the lovely texture which you always regard as a piece of chewing gum. I know I’m home, ‘cause everything is so normal, as if no time has passed by; as if I’ve paused in the middle of a video, and now having pressed the play button, the video starts playing again from the place where I’ve stopped.

Even my family said that I’ve not changed a little bit (in appearance, my brother was terribly disappointed! And except that I’m so tanned according to Winnie). Everything has seemingly remained, just like what you’ve described. But my case is a little bit different: It seems that I’m taking a ride on a time machine, I’m rewinding, to a time when you’ve not yet appeared.

But the fact is, there’s no rewind. I’ve come home differently. I carried home not only with Yoshi and 50 Euros of stuff but also tonnes of our memories, more maturity, and maybe a little bit of improvement in self-management. I’ve met you, which has made all the differences. Just about an hour ago I was still fearing that I’ll lose or forget all the things that I’ve experienced or learned in Europe. You know what? Germany seems to me so far away already, as I’m surrounding by the things which I’ve been seeing in the past 21 years, the so-called ‚reality‘. But now as I’ve seen what you’ve written and that I’m writing, the fear is gone. You seem to be so close again. You’re real, and what I’ve experienced was real.

The other ESians (European Studies Students) always say that once the sojourn comes to an end, you’ve got to wake up from the dream. But I know it’s not the case. A whole new chapter of my life has just been opened and I’m going to write it in a fully new perspective.

The very first subchapter would be the orientation camp. The camp site is located at a place called Cheung Chau, an island with a very distinctive character. I’m supposed to leave home at 6:30 am in order to be there at 9 a.m.. And now it’s 4 a.m. in the morning and I don’t feel a sense of tiredness at all! Uhhhhhhh…I have to start packing things anyway. How about you? Have you wrapped up your super-size TV already? Viel Glück bei deinem Umzug morgen!! 🙂 Gute Nacht Deutschland.

Kommentar verfassen

